SI
SI
discoversearch

We've detected that you're using an ad content blocking browser plug-in or feature. Ads provide a critical source of revenue to the continued operation of Silicon Investor.  We ask that you disable ad blocking while on Silicon Investor in the best interests of our community.  If you are not using an ad blocker but are still receiving this message, make sure your browser's tracking protection is set to the 'standard' level.
Gold/Mining/Energy : KOB.TO - East Lost Hills & GSJB joint venture

 Public ReplyPrvt ReplyMark as Last ReadFilePrevious 10Next 10PreviousNext  
To: Kerm Yerman who wrote (1334)1/21/1999 9:16:00 PM
From: Bearcatbob  Read Replies (1) of 15703
 
Kerm,

I guess the steel balls have not worked - no news either way.

Bob

Also, even the conference admits we wuz robbed.

C-USA: Referee screwed up
------------------------------------------------------------------------

BY SCOTT MacGREGOR
The Cincinnati Enquirer

        Conference USA on Monday publicly criticized the official whose error last Thursday contributed to UC's first loss, but the league office said the loss will not be overturned.

        With 17.5 seconds left in that 62-60 loss at UNC Charlotte, official Tom O'Neill blew his whistle on a missed one-and-one free throw situation. UC had rebounded the miss and Melvin Levett hit a three-pointer at the other end, but officials ruled the play dead.

        On Monday, C-USA commissioner Mike Slive met with Dale Kelley, the league's supervisor of officials, to review the play. Breaking the league's policy of not commenting on officials, Slive issued this statement:

        “It is apparent from the review that the ball was live after the missed one-and-one free throw attempt by UNC Charlotte, and that Cincinnati should have been allowed to continue to play after the rebound. However, an official blew an inadvertant whistle stopping play.

        “The conference has departed from its normal policy of not commenting publicly on officiating matters because of this obvious lapse by the official and the fact that this was not a judgement call. The conference regrets this error.”
Report TOU ViolationShare This Post
 Public ReplyPrvt ReplyMark as Last ReadFilePrevious 10Next 10PreviousNext